Home Brew Forums

Home Brew Forums (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum.php)
-   Recipes/Ingredients (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f12/)
-   -   Recipe Opinion Please! - (SN Summerfest clone) (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f12/recipe-opinion-please-sn-summerfest-clone-78513/)

oster99 08-30-2008 09:17 PM

Recipe Opinion Please! - (SN Summerfest clone)
 
Can anyone put their seal of approval on this recipe, please. I'm looking for something similar to Sierra Nevada's Summerfest. I really have no idea if I'm on the right track. Any advice?

Amount Item Type % or IBU
9.00 lb Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 81.82 %
1.00 lb Cara-Pils/Dextrine (2.0 SRM) Grain 9.09 %
1.00 lb Victory Malt (25.0 SRM) Grain 9.09 %
0.25 oz Nugget [11.90 %] (60 min) Hops 8.6 IBU
1.00 oz Styrian Goldings [7.50 %] (60 min) (First Wort Hop) Hops 26.5 IBU
1.00 oz Cascade [5.50 %] (Dry Hop 14 days) Hops -
0.75 oz Styrian Goldings [7.50 %] (20 min) Hops 10.9 IBU
1.00 oz Amarillo Gold [8.20 %] (0 min) Hops -


Thanks!!!

Blender 08-30-2008 09:43 PM

Summerfest is a lager. What yeast are you using and I don't think you have a similar brew in that recipe.

scinerd3000 08-30-2008 09:58 PM

"Our Summerfest® is a refreshing, pilsner-style lager. Its incredible smoothness comes from an extra-long lagering period. Lighter in body than our ales but just as complex in character, Summerfest® quenches your thirst with big aroma and a tangy hop bite. "

alcohol content 5.0% by volume yeast Bottom-fermenting Lager Yeast
beginning gravity 11.8 Plato bittering hops Perle & Saaz
ending gravity 2.8 Plato finishing hops Saaz
bitterness units 32 malts Two-row Pale & Munich

scinerd3000 08-30-2008 09:59 PM

found that on here if your interested...good luck

seyahmit 08-31-2008 04:08 AM

Here is what I came up with based on the website description. I haven't brewed this yet, but I would like to in the future. Adjust to match your brewing system and ingredients.

Sierra Nevada Summerfest Clone

A ProMash Recipe Report

BJCP Style and Style Guidelines
-------------------------------

02-B Pilsner, Bohemian Pilsner

Min OG: 1.044 Max OG: 1.056
Min IBU: 35 Max IBU: 45
Min Clr: 3 Max Clr: 6 Color in SRM, Lovibond

Recipe Specifics
----------------

Batch Size (Gal): 6.00 Wort Size (Gal): 6.00
Total Grain (Lbs): 11.00
Anticipated OG: 1.047 Plato: 11.79
Anticipated SRM: 4.3
Anticipated IBU: 32.3
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70 %
Wort Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Pre-Boil Amounts
----------------

Evaporation Rate: 12.00 Percent Per Hour
Pre-Boil Wort Size: 6.82 Gal
Pre-Boil Gravity: 1.042 SG 10.42 Plato


Grain/Extract/Sugar

% Amount Name Origin Potential SRM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
90.9 10.00 lbs. Pale Malt(2-row) America 1.037 2
9.1 1.00 lbs. Munich Malt Germany 1.037 8

Potential represented as SG per pound per gallon.


Hops

Amount Name Form Alpha IBU Boil Time
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
0.90 oz. Perle Pellet 7.70 28.4 60 min.
0.50 oz. Czech Saaz Pellet 3.70 3.9 30 min.
0.50 oz. Czech Saaz Pellet 3.70 0.0 0 min.


Yeast
-----

White Labs WLP800 Pilsner Lager


Mash Schedule
-------------

Mash Name:

Total Grain Lbs: 11.00
Total Water Qts: 14.30 - Before Additional Infusions
Total Water Gal: 3.58 - Before Additional Infusions

Tun Thermal Mass: 0.05
Grain Temp: 65.00 F


Step Rest Start Stop Heat Infuse Infuse Infuse
Step Name Time Time Temp Temp Type Temp Amount Ratio
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sacc Rest 0 60 152 152 Infuse 166 14.30 1.30


Total Water Qts: 14.30 - After Additional Infusions
Total Water Gal: 3.58 - After Additional Infusions
Total Mash Volume Gal: 4.46 - After Additional Infusions

All temperature measurements are degrees Fahrenheit.
All infusion amounts are in Quarts.
All infusion ratios are Quarts/Lbs.

oster99 08-31-2008 01:33 PM

Boy, do I feel dumb. Okay maybe not Summerfest, but how 'bout as a crisp tasting pale ale. I was planning on using nottingham yeast. I'm just trying to clear out the freezer. I've got a ton of styrian goldings and have never brewed with them. :confused:

Blender 08-31-2008 01:53 PM

I have never used Stryian Goldings either but the description indicates it is a Fuggle derivative. You could make a nice English based ale with those hops. The Cascade and Amarillo go well together for an American based ale. I add some crystal malt to most of my recipes as well.

plinytheporter 03-19-2011 05:39 AM

Re: Summerfest Clone
Have you brewed this recipe yet? If so how did it turn out?
Thanks,


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:07 AM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.