Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Pumpkin beers: Discussion, developing recipes, tips tricks, and a good practices

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2009, 07:36 PM   #71
absolutbmc
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boerderij_Kabouter View Post
bummer. I am not brewing this weekend Mine will have to wait.
Thats a bummer

Thanks -
Brian

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2009, 07:38 PM   #72
EuBrew
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by absolutbmc View Post
what is the benefit of baking the canned pumpkin??? How long should it be baked? 30mins at 350?
A lot of things I've read when researching this suggest roasting at 350 for an hour to get some carmalization going but I'm a newb so don't trust me, that's why i posted here in case someone that actually knows what they are doing thinks I'm way off base.
Secondary 1: empty
Secondary 2: empty
Secondary 3: empty

Kegged: New Belgium Ranger IPA Clone attempt #1
Bottled Southern Tier Pumking Clone

Planned: EdWort's haus pale ale
CBC Bodhi IPA

I may be naive but I make up for that with inexperience!!

Old 08-14-2009, 07:38 PM   #73
k2brew
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Eubrew, I think that looks pretty good and I am with you on trying to keep the trub down by mashing and not boiling.

My only thought regarding spices is that it's better to have subtle notes then a bombshell of spice. Granted this is personal opinion of SWMBO, I mean my opinion. I think that this usually makes it more accessible for other drinkers as well. However, I tend to take the approach of brew a batch taste, modify on next batch (this is my first pumpkin so I'm going a little light on the spice).

Is that a boxer?

My understanding is that you bake the pumpkin to get some carmalization of the sugars.

K2 Brews
President & CEO... also Lead Taster!

On-Deck 1 => Oktoberfest