Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Pumpkin Ale

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2007, 09:53 PM   #1
Brentk14
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Pumpkin Ale

I am pretty new to brewing beer. I have done 3 batches, a hef, a pale and a kolsch style beer. I now want to try a pumpkin ale, and i was wondering if anyone knew how to add a creamy texture or taste to it. Im kinda going for a pumkin pie you can drink. I am thinking of using vanilla bean but let me know if you guys have any other advice. Thanks

Brent

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-08-2007, 10:15 PM   #2
Sir Humpsalot
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 82 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 22

First, much of the flavor of pumpkin pie is actually in the spices. So I would plan on a spiced pumpkin ale if you want a "pumpkin pie" taste.

Secondly, I recommend a high mash temp, if you are doing AG. That will give you more mouthfeel. If you are doing Extract batches, then try steeping a pound of carapils for some mouthfeel.

Old 08-08-2007, 11:15 PM   #3
Beerrific

Recipes 

Liked 47 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Might try http://www.austinhomebrew.com/produc...ducts_id=10886
I don't think this includes pumpkin but you could trow a can into the boil, won't hurt anything.

I have never done this kit but I can't say I have ever heard anyone say anything bad about AHS's kits. Add the carapils for the mouth feel, you could also use wheat or oats. Also, adjusting your carbonation to lower than what you would normally use will help it feel creamier.

Old 08-09-2007, 03:04 PM   #4
Saint Arnould
Recipes