Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Orange / Coriander Pale Ale

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2011, 02:48 PM   #1
drunkenlogic
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Orange / Coriander Pale Ale

I stumbled across a recipe that was submitted by HBT. Decided it sounded like a refreshing summer brew and am going to give it a go sometime this week.
I am fairly new to brewing (this will be my 3rd batch), and have a few questions in regard to the recipe
First off as far as the Coriander goes, am I to use seeds or fresh coriander? I assume seeds because its calls for crushed coriander, but you know what they say about assuming. Secondly, can someone give me a rough estimate of how many oranges it takes to gain 2 ounces of zest, or suggest a way to come close to the correct amount? I do not have a scale to measure it.
Lastly, This is an all-grain recipe, since i do not have the means to all grain brew, my LHBS suggested replacing "9 lbs. Maris Otter Malt" with a combo of 3.3 lbs of both pilsen light and munich malt extracts.
Like I said, new to brewing, and want this to turn out as best it can, so all suggestions greatly appreciated!

Thanks! - Dan

"There are no beer experts, just beer drinkers with opinions"

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2011, 04:40 PM   #2
Palefire
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 3

I'll bet you the answer's somewhere in this thread ...

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f66/casc...ale-ale-84558/

It absolutely is a great recipe, BTW.

Old 06-23-2011, 05:01 PM   #3
mcberry
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

It took me about 9 valencia oranges for 2.5oz of zest. This was for an orange brown ale and boiled 5 minutes.

Old 06-23-2011, 06:48 PM   #4
Nohup
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Here is a long thread about a blue moon clone: