Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Nottingham for high gravity brew?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2007, 02:24 PM   #1
ohiobrewtus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 37 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default Nottingham for high gravity brew?

I'm going to be brewing my IIPA this weekend and I'd like to use Nottingham but I've never used it in a big beer before. I've had great success with it in all other beers and I'm looking for a neutral yeast.

Can Nottingham handle 1.093?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2007, 02:29 PM   #2
brewt00l
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I haven't used Nottingham up that high but I have used US05 (and I pitch two packs with high grav worts)....Danstar describes Nottingham as having "relatively high alcohol tolerance" and includes this in the FAQ:

I am making a high gravity beer. Does this affect the amount of dry yeast I should add to my wort?

Yes, for high gravity beers the pitching rate should be increased. The rule of thumb is one million cells per degree Plato per ml. Under-pitching can result in slow or stuck fermentation.

Old 12-17-2007, 02:50 PM   #3
cheezydemon
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

I have had great success in BIG beers with white labs Irish Ale yeast. I have not risked dry yeast in ahigh grav brew.

To insure success, you can ferment it out with only some of your fermentables in place, in other words brew 3.5 gallons or so of a weaker beer, then add a gallon of concentrated wort after a few days, and repeat if necessary. This method can coax a yeast strain well beyond it's advertised alcohol tolerance. But don't expect it to bottle carb!