Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > North Coast Old Stock Ale Clone - Help

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2009, 10:40 PM   #1
Mitch529
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default North Coast Old Stock Ale Clone - Help

Just wondering if anyone has tried this recipe and/or if anyone can comment on how close it is to the original.

Had a pack of these with some friends and they are begging me to brew it! I'm still a newb at 5 batches so I am always leery of these recipes I cannot find any reviews on.

I also don't get the notes, "To get the rich
carmely flavor you need to boil your first gallon of wort very hard for
30 to 45 min." I am doing full boils so does that mean I need to just boil the whole batch hard or is he referring to a partial boil?

TIA
-Mitch

Code:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Old Stock Ale Clone (Extract)

General
Category: Strong Ale
Subcategory: Old Ale
Recipe Type: Extract
Batch Size: 5 gal.
Volume Boiled: 6 gal.
Mash Efficiency: 72 %
Total Grain/Extract: 13.00 lbs.
Total Hops: 3.0 oz.
Calories (12 fl. oz.): 460.6
Cost to Brew: $49.50 (USD)
Cost per Bottle (12 fl. oz.): $0.93 (USD)

Ingredients
5 lbs. Dry Amber Extract
4 lbs. Dry Light Extract
4 lbs. Dry Dark Extract
1.5 oz. Fuggle (Pellets, 4.75 %AA) boiled 60 minutes.
1.5 oz. East Kent Goldings (Pellets, 5.00 %AA) boiled 10 minutes.
Yeast: White Labs WLP001 California Ale

Notes
BrewCrAzY Clone Recipe of one of my favorite big beers. To get the rich
carmely flavor you need to boil your first gallon of wort very hard for
30 to 45 min. Ferment at 67F.

Vital Statistics
Original Gravity: 1.114
Terminal Gravity: 1.026
Color: 18.24 SRM
Bitterness: 37.9 IBU
Alcohol (%volume): 11.7 %

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2009, 12:07 AM   #2
tfries
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2