The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > NOOB trying Amber Ale

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2012, 05:55 PM   #1
BoA1967
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default NOOB trying Amber Ale

I'm new to Partial-Mash, and 4 beer kit brews old. (3 beer kits, with steeping grains, and 1 extract/steeping/boiling hops)
I've been reading, searching and studying brewing alot, for 3 months, and now i'm getting ready to brew try a partial mash, with a mini-mash tun (2 UK gallons)

Heres the recipe I have created, and I need feedback. Have I gone overboard, or am I on the right track. (I don't know the style but I like the tastes of the grains in the mix):

Tamper with Amber (Irish Red Ale)

Original Gravity (OG): 1.056 (°P): 13.8
Final Gravity (FG): 1.017 (°P): 4.3
Alcohol (ABV): 5.14 %
Colour (SRM): 13.8 (EBC): 27.2
Bitterness (IBU): 29.1 (Rager)

46.62% Maris Otter Malt
23.31% Amber Malt
9.32% Dry Malt Extract - Light
9.32% Vienna
4.66% Carapils (Dextrine)
4.66% Dry Malt Extract - Dark
1.17% Biscuit
0.47% Chocolate
0.47% Roasted Barley

1.3 g/L East Kent Golding (4.7% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil)
0.9 g/L Fuggles (5.7% Alpha) @ 30 Minutes (Boil)
0.9 g/L East Kent Golding (4.7% Alpha) @ 15 Minutes (Boil)

0.1 g/L Irish Moss @ 15 Minutes (Boil)
2.2 g/L Malto-Dextrine @ 10 Minutes (Boil)

Single step Infusion at 66°C for 60 Minutes. Boil for 60 Minutes

Fermented at 20°C with Safale S-04

Best regards

~Bo (From Denmark)

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2012, 06:02 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4202 Times on 3059 Posts
Likes Given: 779

I think you've got too much of a hodgepodge there. I'd ditch any dark or amber extract, as it has other things in it like crystal malt so it's hard to say what's in it.