Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Need help adding vanilla to a cream ale

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2005, 05:08 PM   #1
bleppek
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Need help adding vanilla to a cream ale

I will be getting the cream ale kit from northernbrewer today, and had a question about maybe adding a little bit of vanilla to the taste. This will only be my 3rd batch so I'm still very new to the process (still waiting for my first batch to bottle condition ). I do use a 5 gallon secondary for all my beers, so I could add something then.
What would be the easiest way to get just a hint of vanilla taste to this batch? All suggestions are appreciated. Here is what the kit contains:

Specialty Grains
0.75 lbs. Gambrinus Honey Malt
0.25 lbs. Dingemans Biscuit

Fermentables
6 lbs. Alexander's Pale

Boil Additions
1 oz. Mt. Hood (60 min)
1 oz. Willamette (1 min)

Yeast
Wyeast #1338 European Ale Yeast. From Wissenschaftliche in Munich. Full-bodied complex strain finishing very malty. Produces a dense, rocky head during fermentation. Flocculation: high. Apparent attenuation: 67-71%. Optimum temperature: 62-72.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2005, 05:15 PM   #2
Dude
Will work for beer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 36 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 5

I've done a couple of vanilla batches now--and honestly I won't use vanilla beans again. To my taste, it leaves a bitter astringency I don't like at all.

I'll use vanilla extract from now on. Unfortunately it is an experiment to what your tastes are. I'd start with a tablspoon or so in the secondary, so you can taste it along the way. If it needs more, add it and bottle thereafter.

Up Next: Smoked Porter -- Pub Ale -- Watermelon Wheat
Planning:
Gone But Not Forgotten:

www.IronOrrBrewery.com

Old 12-13-2005, 05:18 PM   #3
Baron von BeeGee
Beer Bully

Recipes