Home Brew Forums

Home Brew Forums (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum.php)
-   Recipes/Ingredients (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f12/)
-   -   My Holiday Porter, Your Opinions (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f12/my-holiday-porter-your-opinions-138264/)

Gremlyn 09-24-2009 05:35 AM

My Holiday Porter, Your Opinions
 
Code:

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 5.00 gal     
Boil Size: 6.10 gal
Estimated OG: 1.068 SG
Estimated Color: 36.7 SRM
Estimated IBU: 28.5 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amount        Item                                      Type        % or IBU     
10.00 lb      Pale Malt, Maris Otter (3.0 SRM)          Grain        81.63 %     
0.75 lb      Chocolate Malt (450.0 SRM)                Grain        6.12 %       
0.50 lb      Caramel/Crystal Malt - 80L (80.0 SRM)    Grain        4.08 %       
0.50 lb      Oats, Flaked (1.0 SRM)                    Grain        4.08 %       
0.25 lb      Barley, Flaked (1.7 SRM)                  Grain        2.04 %       
0.25 lb      Black (Patent) Malt (500.0 SRM)          Grain        2.04 %       
1.75 oz      Williamette [4.80 %]  (60 min)            Hops        27.0 IBU     
0.50 oz      Williamette [4.80 %]  (5 min)            Hops        1.5 IBU     
1 Pkgs        Burton Ale (White Labs #WLP023)          Yeast-Ale                 


Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Full Body, Batch Sparge
Total Grain Weight: 12.25 lb
----------------------------
Single Infusion, Full Body, Batch Sparge
Step Time    Name              Description                        Step Temp   
60 min        Mash In            Add 3.80 gal of water at 167.2 F    155.0 F     

Notes:
------
2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ginger, 1 tsp allspice @ 3min


Oldsock 09-24-2009 01:15 PM

Looks pretty tasty to me. I would probably back down on the spices (~50%) you can always add more if you taste it and want more (taking spices out is considerably more difficult).

I would also up the chocolate malt to .5 lbs, as it is you will have a pretty low roast porter (which is fine if that is what you are aiming for).

Good luck.

Gremlyn 09-24-2009 03:12 PM

Thanks for the tips. I've not used spices before and am basing those amounts off of a recipe for The Pol's Holiday Ale.

As for the roasty flavour, I was thinking the MO might bring that up a little more, though I don't see any problems bumping it up. I'd likely back down on the black patent by maybe 1/2 if I do to keep the colour from going off the charts. Personally, the roastier, the better!

Oldsock 09-24-2009 03:22 PM

Spices depend a lot on quality and freshness. I actually like using a spice tea at bottling in beers that I want to taste the spices distinctly. Going through the boil and fermentation tends to integrate their flavor (which I like for subtle spice in Belgian beers).

MO will give you bready, maybe toasty, but it won't do much for the classic porter flavors of chocolate, coffee, light char etc...

SRM calculators can be a bit wonky, some color is lost to the pale grains. I did 0.50 lbs. Chocolate Malt and 0.34 lbs. Black Patent Malt in a 3.25 gallon batch of 1.071 porter and thought it was just about right. That said again if you are looking for something paler and less roasty it would still be a porter.

Gremlyn 09-24-2009 05:56 PM

I'm just a little nervous to bump the BP... I've not used it before and would like to err on the side of cuation. Similar to your point about spices, if I add too much I can't take it out (also not like I can add more BP either, but still). I'll definitely bump the chocolate, maybe up 0.75 lbs.

I'm planning on using the ground spices from the generic spice pots, nothing fresh this time around.

Gremlyn 09-24-2009 10:34 PM

OK, anyone else have any suggestions before I go ahead and order this one?

Gremlyn 09-25-2009 05:53 AM

Updated the recipe:

Code:

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 5.00 gal     
Boil Size: 6.10 gal
Estimated OG: 1.068 SG
Estimated Color: 36.7 SRM
Estimated IBU: 28.5 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.00 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amount        Item                                      Type        % or IBU     
10.00 lb      Pale Malt, Maris Otter (3.0 SRM)          Grain        81.63 %     
0.75 lb      Chocolate Malt (450.0 SRM)                Grain        6.12 %       
0.50 lb      Caramel/Crystal Malt - 80L (80.0 SRM)    Grain        4.08 %       
0.50 lb      Oats, Flaked (1.0 SRM)                    Grain        4.08 %       
0.25 lb      Barley, Flaked (1.7 SRM)                  Grain        2.04 %       
0.25 lb      Black (Patent) Malt (500.0 SRM)          Grain        2.04 %       
1.75 oz      Williamette [4.80 %]  (60 min)            Hops        27.0 IBU     
0.50 oz      Williamette [4.80 %]  (5 min)            Hops        1.5 IBU     
1 Pkgs        Burton Ale (White Labs #WLP023)          Yeast-Ale                 


Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Full Body, Batch Sparge
Total Grain Weight: 12.25 lb
----------------------------
Single Infusion, Full Body, Batch Sparge
Step Time    Name              Description                        Step Temp   
60 min        Mash In            Add 3.80 gal of water at 167.2 F    155.0 F     

Notes:
------
2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp ginger, 1 tsp allspice @ 3min


motobrewer 10-15-2009 01:47 AM

how hard would this be to convert to an extract version? :)

Gremlyn 10-15-2009 02:28 AM

You'd have to do a minimash at least because of the oats and flaked barley. You could for-go them, but I think you'd sacrifice a lot of the body and mouthfeel that should make this beer great on a cold evening.

ThreeTaps 10-22-2009 05:12 AM

Can't wait to see how this one tastes. I'm a big fan of porters now, because of your advice.

On a side note, my Oatmeal Stout turned out pretty good.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:09 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.