Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > My First IPA Recipe (NEED YOUR HELP)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-07-2013, 07:18 AM   #1
BrewByBerg
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default My First IPA Recipe (NEED YOUR HELP)

Hello all,

This is my first time posting on here so bare with me if I'm out of place. But I just wanted some input on the hop schedule of my first IPA. I plan on making a tropical, citrusy, smooth bitter IPA.

I am using a yeast starter with white labs San Diego super yeast, and golden light dry Malt extract. I am still trying to figure out the wort.

Hops: Galaxy, Citra, Amarillo, and Simcoe (for bittering)

Please give me your input on boil schedule. I plan on dry hoping as well. Any input helps!!

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2013, 01:52 PM   #2
bobbrews
Recipes 

Liked 285 Times on 243 Posts
Likes Given: 18

30 IBUs Simcoe @ 60
1.5 oz. mixed Galaxy & Simcoe @ 10
2.5 oz. mixed Galaxy & Citra @ 0
3.5 oz. mixed Amarillo & Citra @ 7 day dryhop

I like the simple extract malt bill. Shoot for 1.067 to 1.070 OG. Use some sugar as well to help dry it out down to more of an AIPA FG. 8-10% total sugar should work. Crystal malt is optional, but 3-5% of C10, C20, or C40 won't hurt either. Definitely make a starter with the WLP090.

Old 05-07-2013, 02:09 PM   #3
Jayhem
Recipes 

Liked 261 Times on 211 Posts
Likes Given: 1184

I'm a big fan of Simcoe but it's a bit of a waste as a 60 minute bittering hop. Do you have any cheap high AA% hops for bittering? I like Magnum, Super Galena and Columbus for IPA bittering hops.

Next up: American Pale Ale
Primary 1&2: American Brown Ale
Primary 3&4: Hopped up Belgian Tripel
Bottle Conditioning/drinking: Summer Kolsch, White Zombie (Amarillo IPA), English Pale Ale (ESB)

Old 05-07-2013, 02:14 PM   #4
bobbrews
Recipes