Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Maltodextrin Substitute?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2010, 06:12 PM   #1
gravlbely
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Maltodextrin Substitute?

I'm brewing a porter today and wanted to add maltodextrin but my LHBS doesn't keep a supply of the stuff and I was wondering what I can use as a substitute. Possibly: LME, Molasses, Maple Syrup, etc. I've never used maltodextrin before in a beer so I have no idea. However, I've taken a gal. of 1st runnings of a stout, boiled it down for an hour and a half to get a syrup and added it to the last 20 mins. of the boil before. Came out great. Should I just do this with my porter?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2010, 06:18 PM   #2
Sacdan
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 1

How about using some Cara-Pils?

Old 11-03-2010, 06:21 PM   #3
jmo88
Recipes 

Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by gravlbely View Post
I'm brewing a porter today and wanted to add maltodextrin but my LHBS doesn't keep a supply of the stuff and I was wondering what I can use as a substitute. Possibly: LME, Molasses, Maple Syrup, etc. I've never used maltodextrin before in a beer so I have no idea. However, I've taken a gal. of 1st runnings of a stout, boiled it down for an hour and a half to get a syrup and added it to the last 20 mins. of the boil before. Came out great. Should I just do this with my porter?
Maltodextin gives you body and mouthfeel. You definitely do not want to use molasses and maple syrup as a sub. This will probably give you the opposite of what you want. Try flaked wheat, flaked barley, or carapils.

Old 11-03-2010, 06:38 PM   #4
gravlbely
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmo88 View Post