Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Looking for Lost Abbey - Judgment Day Clone

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2013, 01:20 AM   #41
CrazyBastardsBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 3

sorry know this is a kinda old post but been using it to start messing around with a quad recipe and was wondering if anyone perhaps you lucky, can tell me bout the hops used in the last recipe... the East Kent goldings and the challenger. From what i can find they seem to be clean not very interesting hops i have never used them so any info or input about them would be appreciated from you guys i was thinking maybe swapping one or both out for something a lil more intense or atleast along the lines or flavor profiles i think of when i think quad.. perhaps Perle(german) or brewers gold(german) again hops i have no experience with so if anyone has any input on the matter it would be appreciated... thanks guys

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-05-2013, 02:30 PM   #42
ultravista
Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Updates?

Old 10-05-2013, 04:28 PM   #43
LuckyBeagleBrewing
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 5

6My notifications seem somewhat sketchy from this site but I will but I will try to answer the questions since last post on here. The hops are the same ones they used in the original. I think they were looking more from the raisin character and more clean, light bittering. For a quad this is really a good combination. Challenger is a Northern Brewer variant and EKG adds earthy and spice. For this beer the hops are not on the forefront. Think raisin. It is a little sweet but hides alcohol to the point where it is dangerously deceptive. This is a 10.5% beer but it is easy to drink.