Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Lactose in my IPA

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2012, 04:25 PM   #1
HeavyKettleBrewing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts

Default Lactose in my IPA

I have searched the forums and lactose brings up many results. I could not read them all and many pertained to additions in stouts. I am brewing outside the box today and my question is, "how much is too much" since I have never used lactose sugar before. Going to brew up a 5 gal batch of a Milk IPA along the same profile as FFF Apocalypse Cow, which I have yet to taste. Judging from the reviews on BA and the opinion of a friend, I am flying blind but am confident. Not looking to replicate their beer, just experimenting. I included the recipe if curious. If anyone has experience with lactose, please advise on recommended amount.

#9 MO
#1 Crystal 60
#.5 Honey Malt
1oz magnum 60m
1oz amarill0 20m
1oz amarillo 15m
1oz amarillo 10m
1oz centennial 10m
1oz amarillo 5m
1oz centennial 5m
lactose 4oz-8oz TBD??? 5m
single infusion 156deg
fly sparge to 6.5 gal
WYEAST 1272
target OG 1.058-1.060
target FG 1.014-1.016
2oz amarillo dry hop

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-15-2012, 07:37 PM   #2
SouthBay
Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 21 Posts

Never had the beer you mentioned, but i've used lactose in a number of beers. I'd say go for 4oz, and adjust from there if you like it. With the honey, Caramel, and MO, it'll be a sweet beer, similar enough to the Vanilla Caramel Cream Ale recipe thats on here from Cheesefood.

Old 04-15-2012, 09:58 PM   #3
TarheelBrew13
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I haven't tried using lactose in an IPA but I have used it in some very hoppy dark beers and I have found that I need around a pound it to be prominent. Personally, I'd start with 8 oz and adjust from there.

Old 04-15-2012, 10:18 PM   #4
skeezerpleezer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 21 reviews

Recipes