Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Kona's Longboard Lager

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-21-2011, 09:57 PM   #1
swoods93631
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Kona's Longboard Lager

Hello All,

I am a newb to brewing and this forum. I have been reading my brains out and am learning a lot thanks to all you seasoned brewers on here.

SWMBO is a very picky beer drinker. She does not like most of what I drink and is not a fan of my first brew (even though I think is pretty good for my first). She really likes this longboard and it would be cool to brew something very similar for her when I get this brewing thing down a bit more.

I googled and googled this board and only found a few old threads (2008) that had some "best guess" recipes. I am hoping I have missed something and someone out there has a good Malt Extract clone recipe for the Longboard. Anyone?

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2011, 10:20 PM   #2
beerandloathinginaustin
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 378

Keep in mind you'll have to ferment a lager at much lower temps than room temp. I'd advise finding an ale she likes if you're just starting out.

www.BJCPhero.com - Certified Cicerone and Lead Cellarman for Refuge Brewery. Trying to win an award in all 23 BJCP beer categories (7 down so far with 19 awards) & taking Brett excursions along the way.

Old 07-21-2011, 10:25 PM   #3
TopherM
Vinz Clortho - the Keymaster of Gozer the Gozerian
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Brew Setups
Recipes 

Liked 428 Times on 338 Posts
Likes Given: 22

+1 it is also going to take you 90-120 days to lager. What about something like a strawberry blonde or belgian white?

Primary #1 - Midnight Ryeder (Midnight Wheat and Rye)
Primary #2 - Mango Habenero Berliner Weisse
Primary #3 - EMPTY!