Klingon Blood Ale....?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sirjess

Reaction score
Hello everyone, first time posting but have been reading the site for a while. I have been brewing / making wine for a few years and realy enjoy it.

My first post and I have a sorta strange questions....How do I make a beer taste a bit like blood? :cross: I know you cant add real blood as it will spoil and I am sure would taste like crap anyway, so what I want is something that will add a Iron taste.

I was thinking a fairly sweet strong brown ale as a base beer, medium hopped, with a bit of juniper added. Maybe a little bit of smoke taste but not very much. I would then want to make it taste like iron a fair bit. You know that taste when you like something metal...yuk.....ya that. It is the closest taste to blood I can think of. Anyone know how to accomplish this?

And yes I am a Star Trek geek, so this will be a Klingon Blood Ale.

Thanx alot for reading this post.

sirjess said:
How do I make a beer taste a bit like blood? :cross: I know you cant add real blood as it will spoil and I am sure would taste like crap anyway, so what I want is something that will add a Iron taste.

Scrape the rust of plate steel. Or add iron pills to the kettle.

BTW, you are now offically HBT's most freaky person. :eek:

You could just slaughter a lamb and ferment the blood. :rolleyes:

Be careful adding metal or metal supplements to your beer. You could make it toxic in a hurry.

IMHO, you should make a tasty, dark red ale to capture the spirit of the beer without worrying about making it taste like vampire juice.

You could just come to my house and brew with my water. The iron content pre-filter is through the roof.