Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Help with an IIPA recipe - advice appreciated!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2010, 02:54 PM   #1
BlueWolf
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Help with an IIPA recipe - advice appreciated!

Hey guys and gals, I’m looking for a little bit of help please. I’ve been brewing for about a year, with around 16 batches under my belt. Mostly partial mashes since I can’t do a full boil at the moment. I’ve learned a lot over those 16 batches, but I’m still a novice.

Long story short, my dad and I were kicking back with family over Thanksgiving drinking some local Michigan brew. Everyone was chatting about the good beer, some of mine included, and my father offered to buy the ingredients for a batch if we could make one together, no price limit.

His words were “I want an epic Imperial IPA, and I want it to be glorious. I don’t care what it costs.” Hah, ok Dad, now we’re talking my language. Then he told me he wants it a minimum of 10%, more if we can. I’m not looking for anything ridiculous, so I don’t really want to aim for more than 11 or 12% at most. Hell, that’s more than enough.

My biggest concern is keeping the beer from being overly sweet, so figuring out what yeast to use really has me stumped. I typically have good brew house efficiency of around 75% even partial mashing, but I’d like a yeast that can handle that high of abv and still attenuate well. I don’t normally make my bears that high. Usually they’re in the 6- 7% range, so my experience is limited here.

Equipment : 10 Gallon Rubbermaid round MLT, about a 5.5 gallon boil pot, two - 6.5 gallon bucket primaries, 6 gallon better bottle primary, and one 5 gallon better bottle secondary.

House efficiency around 75% with roughly 1/3 of the base typically being extract due to the low boil volume. (My mash efficiency keeps getting better and better as time goes on)

So here are my questions: