Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Help with first recipe

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-16-2011, 10:19 PM   #1
jordanbnell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Help with first recipe

Hey,

So this is my first attempt ever at a recipe and was wondering what you guys thought.

Here are the details of what I'm basing this off of:

Wachusett Green Monsta IPA
India Pale Ale
• An All-American yeast teams up with Cascade, Amarillo and Centennial for a homerun of hops in every sip.
• Caramel 40, Caramel 80, Bondlander Munich, Rye and American two-row malts.
• A.B.V. 6.0% | 55 IBUs

Here is what I came up with:

Batch size: 5 gallons
OG: 1.057
IBU: 62.5
SRM: 8.2
mash: 154 for 60min
yeast: wyeast 1056

9lb Pale Malt (2 Row) US
2lb Rye Malt
4oz Munich Malt
4oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 80L
4oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L

1oz Centennial boil-60min
1oz Cascade boil-15min
1oz Amarillo boil-10min
1oz Amarillo boil-5min
1oz Amarillo dry hop
1oz Cascade dry hop

I'm not too concerned with copying the original recipe. I'm just wondering if my recipe makes any sense

What do you think??

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-17-2011, 02:58 AM   #2
HopLife
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 16

I am not too familiar with rye malt. I would be a little concerned that might be too much rye.

I am a little more familiar with the crystal malt and the hops you are using. On the plus side, Centennial, Amarillo, and Cascade are great hops for an IPA. I personally wouldn't go as dark as 80 for the cryastal. I think I would shoot for more like 7 SRM, using mostly crystal 40 in this recipe. I like the munich, so if you do eliminate the rye, you might up the Munich. I personally use vienna in IPA, I am not sure if I am breaking the rules there, but it seems to give a little body and flavor.