Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Heavily Researched Fat Tire Clone Grain Bill/hop Schedule what yeast?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2010, 04:43 AM   #1
permo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 21 Posts

Default Heavily Researched Fat Tire Clone Grain Bill/hop Schedule what yeast?

I have been researching a fat tire clone for a few months now, I have read many articles and many quotes and interviews from supposed New Belgium brewmasters. They say they use a clean american yeast, but I don't think they do...there is a taste there, an earthiness of some sort that is not malt related, it is yeast or hops...regardless.

I can say that fat tire is a fantastic session beer, not to assertive, but still keeps you coming back for more..bread crust, earthiness, biscuit, light noble hop/citrus aroma....medium carbonation...just a nice all round beer.

Here is what I have came up with for a grain bill and hop schedule for a 6 gallon batch.

10.00 lb Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 80.00 %
0.50 lb Cara-Pils/Dextrine (2.0 SRM) Grain 4.00 %
0.50 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 20L (20.0 SRM) Grain 4.00 %
0.50 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 40L (40.0 SRM) Grain 4.00 %
0.50 lb Munich Malt (9.0 SRM) Grain 4.00 %
0.25 lb Biscuit Malt (23.0 SRM) Grain 2.00 %
0.25 lb Special B Malt (180.0 SRM) Grain 2.00 %
1.00 oz Williamette [5.50 %] (60 min) Hops 16.0 IBU
0.50 oz Williamette [5.50 %] (1 min) Hops 0.3 IBU
Mash at 154 for 60

Beer Profile

Est Original Gravity: 1.053 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.015 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 5.42 %
Bitterness: 16.4 IBU Calories: 235 cal/pint

So the question remains....what to use for yeast? A search of clone kits available on the internet shows a fifty/fifty split between neutral yeast strains and belgian strains......food for thought.