Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Good second brew?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2006, 09:03 PM   #1
giant016
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Good second brew?

My first brew isn't even bottled yet and I'm already thinking what I should do next. One of the reasons I started brewing was to try different beers. Are there any beers that are different, yet the ingredients are easy to find and the brewing process isn't too hard? I like lagers don't have the ability to ferment them at the cold temps.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2006, 09:31 PM   #2
mbreen01
Recipes 

Brown ale, stout, porter, red, IPA, English mild/bitter, wit bier, Belgian ales, wheat, Hefe Weizen...
The sky is the limit; especially since you have easy access to pretty much any ingredient you need using the internet.

A better idea, would be for you to go out and try a wide array of commercial brews and think about what you like/dislike about each one and why. Then you can begin to look for a good recipe in the particular style you want. If you don't have access to a very broad selection, then post up about what beers you've tried and liked and why. Perhaps someone can suggest something more appropriate for you. Otherwise, the suggestion is just reflective of what WE like.

Marc.

PS. But a batch that you don't really like makes quite a nice gift! he he. (now I'm not admitting anything from personal experience of course.)

On tap & enjoying: Honey Wheat; Cheese's Caramel Cream Ale
Gone with a belch: Bock Talkit; Three Kings Better Bitter; Quake & Bake Oatmeal Stout; High Altitude Pale Ale
On deck: Garbage Pale Ale; Honey Wheat

Old 11-23-2006, 10:42 PM   #3
EdWort
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 255 Times on 136 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Go Hefeweizen!

Old 11-24-2006, 12:21 AM   #4
giant016
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbreen01