New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Flaked Corn and Rice problem

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2014, 05:21 PM   #1
DilsmackDude
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Flaked Corn and Rice problem

Im new at all this so I'm not really sure what I'm doing wrong. But the guy at the homebrew store told me to steep flaked corn and rice for 30 minutes at 150 degrees. He said it could add a creamy feel to the beer. I did this once with a 60 minute boil, 6lbs of pale extract, a couple different types of hops and 2 weeks in the fermenter at 70 degrees. Then I did it again with that glueten free soroughm stuff, 60 minute boil, a few different hop additions, fermented at 60 degrees for two weeks. Bottled both of them with 5oz corn sugar, and neither one would carbonate. What am I doing wrong? something to do with the corn and flaked rice I'm assuming, no other beers have given me trouble with carbonating. Please let me know if anyone can spot my mistake. thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-01-2014, 05:22 PM   #2
DilsmackDude
Recipes 

oh yeah and If this has already been answered I couldnt find it so forgive me.

Old 04-01-2014, 05:34 PM   #3
Walzenbrew
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Well, the flaked corn and rice would not affect carbonation, but there are a lot of other unanswered things that could affect it.

1. What temperature were you bottling at? It should not be colder than 60F and not warmer than mid 70F
2. How did you do bottling? did you rack to a bottling bucket, boil the sugar in 2 cups water and then add?

There has to be something different about this batch, that's not the corn or rice, that would affect it.

Guides, Tips and Experiments for beginning homebrewers at
http://thebeginnersbrew.com

boysbrew2012 Likes This 
Old 04-01-2014, 08:02 PM   #4
DilsmackDude
Recipes