Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Fermcap-S...what did I do wrong?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2009, 11:28 AM   #1
Coastarine
We get it, you hate BMC.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Fermcap-S...what did I do wrong?

Alright, this is my first time using fermcap-S and I still woke up this morning to a mess of krausen coming out of my airlock. The instructions on the bottle said to add at the beginning of fermentation. I know many of you add it for foam control during the boil, but I added it at the beginning of fermentation. 10 drops, 2 per gallon just like the instructions said. It just kind of sat there on the surface and I figured it would eventually get mixed around and do its job. Then the foam started creeping up the neck and I decided to add 10 more drops. It took down the foam that it was sitting on, but hasn't been heard from since. WTF?

On Tap.........[The Munchner][Spiced Cider][English Cider][Simcoe IPA][Triple Hops Grooved][Cider'n 'gnac]

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2009, 01:57 PM   #2
pjj2ba
Look under the recliner

Recipes 

Liked 195 Times on 161 Posts
Likes Given: 22

It needs a good shake/stir after adding to mix it in. It doesn't totally kill the krausen, it just knocks it down pretty good. On beer styles prone to lots of foaming you still may need a blow off.

Primary: Pale Ale
Brewing soon: Saison
Recently kicked : ( IPA, Bock, Saison,
Pilsner Urquell Master Homebrewer
(1st NYC 2011, 2nd NYC 2012)
P U crowns winners in its inaugural master HB competition

Old 02-17-2009, 02:03 PM   #3
GreenwoodRover
me-no-r-no Nice Guy

Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts

So I shouldn't have used it in my Hefe, airlocked it, then set the carboy on the dining room table covered in my wifes only cashmere sweater to block the sunlight?