Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Design Approach

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2008, 02:20 PM   #1
Lost Brews
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Design Approach

I am just getting into designing my own recipes. I feel the way i am approaching my designs is with way to much guess and check. How do you approach designing your .

Cheers
Lost Brews

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2008, 02:23 PM   #2
cheezydemon
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

I experiment wildly and then when I hit on something truely special, I tweak it if needeed.

BOTTLED: "Route 66 IPA" 7% ABV, "Dave's Imperial Stout" 12% ABV , "Spider Imperial Stout" 9%ABV , "Mutt Irish Ale" 7% ABV, "Sorta Sierra" IPA's 4.4% ABV, "Habanero Ales" 5.5% ABV, "Pumpkin Seed Ale" 5.5% ABV , "Marzen" Lager, "Step child Ale",
PRIMARies: "Caramel Amber" , "Black Porter"
SECONDARIES:1 :"Miller Ale"
On DECK: Another Russian Stout

Old 01-15-2008, 02:29 PM   #3
zoebisch01

Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

The way I view it is, once you have technique down and have a good feel for what works together historically then you can begin venturing in 'new' directions. A good test of this is to try to brew 'in style' based on the 'accepted' guidelines for a style. When that can be accomplished it is a fairly good indicator of technique (among other things). Then whatever you dream can be attempted. I say attempted because it will usually be a tweaking process, sometimes an unprecedented rework of a recipe. At least this has been the path I have followed. I experiment and don't even allow style to cross my mind. That is not my goal. My goal is to be able to brew what I dream up. Like I have said before, there is nothing wrong with brewing 'in style' as I do this regularly, but I believe that 'style' shouldn't prevent anyone from expressing their own creativity as a brewer.