The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Dark Saison recipe critique

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2012, 01:23 PM   #1
chefchris
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Dark Saison recipe critique

Going for a cool weather saison with a big body and little bit of roast character.

1.060 OG
34.5 IBUs
32 SRM

10.25 lb Pils
1 lb Oats
1 lb Wheat Malt
.5 lb Chocolate Wheat
2 oz Chocolate Malt
1 lb D-180 Belgian Candi Syrup

0.6 oz Magnum (60 min)

White Labs Saison III (maybe)

I've never used Candi Syrup before so I'm not sure how much it will impact the flavor.

What do you think, sirs?

Primary: RIS, Flanders Red, Berliner Weisse

On Tap: Brown Ale, American Stout, Pumpkin Porter, Pale Ale, Uncle Muscle's IPA, Rowsdower Canadian Dry Stout

Bottled: Berliner Weisse

I think you are confuisng circle k with a reach around. - Denny's Evil Concoctions

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-18-2012, 01:00 AM   #2
beowulf
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 24

Looks good! I have a dark saison on-deck as well. I'm planning on 1# Midnight wheat in mine for the color. I think your chocolate wheat looks good...not sure what the 2oz of chocolate malt is for...color, perhaps? Or just have 2oz you need to use up? I used 8oz of D-180 in my rye saison...adds just a touch of sweetness but not the heavy, cloying kind. I really like what it does. In fact, after seeing your recipe I may add some D-180 to my dark saison....might provide a nice bit of complexity...

I could murder a pint! -Lovejoy

Old 11-18-2012, 01:46 AM   #3
chefchris
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts