Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > crazy first time recipe?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2012, 07:11 PM   #1
CHillRoomBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default crazy first time recipe?

a few weeks ago i bought a 1 pound bag of cascade hops so i could dry hop a BB kit IPA. i only used 1 oz of the hops at the time. but i didnt think about proper storage, i thought i could get ahold of a vacuum sealer, but was wrong so i stuffed the remaining hops into two gallon size zip bags and threw it in the freezer, i knew this wouldnt keep fresh long so i then decided to use the entire 15oz of remaning hops in my very first own recipe. i am a chef, so i decided that i could just go into my local brew store and just kinda grab some random grain, extract, and make my brew my way. which is exactly how i learned to cook. i admit, though, that i do not have a firm grasp on much of the math involved, the guy at the store assured me that the grains and extract i grabbed would result in at least a 9% abv beer, which i thought would be necessary for such a hoppy beer. after talking to him and deciding that i would put the vast majority of the hops near the end as well as 2oz dryhopping in order to keep the bitterness down. but after i brewed the beer i decided to download beersmith 2 and plug in the numbers. now maybe i dont know how to use it, but it says im looking at a 5% beer with 103 IBU. here is the recipe i created, i fully understand that it may be offensive to some of you, but im trying to get predictions on what you all think i may come up with in three weeks when this thing hits the keggerator, cause this is for fun, and if i have to choke down some nasty beer once in a while, then at least i learned something in the process. im just gonna list the ingredients as they appear on the packages, i dont know what a lovibond is, but ill write it down for you.