Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Cluster hops...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2009, 02:36 AM   #1
Connor85
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Cluster hops...

Anybody have any experience using Cluster hops?

I'm laying out a Cali. Common, and was thinking of using NB for bittering, and a combo of Cluster and NB for flavor and aroma.

I've never used this hop before. Has anyone used them with good results?

Old 02-22-2009, 02:56 AM   #2
Austinhomebrew
Vendor
HBT_SPONSOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 107 Times on 87 Posts
Likes Given: 90

They are citrusy and they lean toward a grapefruit taste. Leinenkugels uses cluster hops in most of their beers.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2009, 03:27 AM   #3
BigEd
Recipes 

Liked 111 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 14

I don't find anything in the way of grapefruit in Clusters. They are an older American variety, once very common but replaced for the most part with newer high alpha hops. They sometimes get a bad rep as being "catty". I like them a lot in certain beers like CAP and some pale ales. Clusters aren't really known for their flavor and aroma but IMO they would work very well in a Cal Common as a bittering hop. I might switch the additions with the NB or try using something like Willamette as the finisher to get a different beer than an Anchor knockoff.

Old 02-22-2009, 02:27 PM   #4
adamjab19
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

I highly recommend them. I use them in my Rye Ale(see pull down menu) with Willamette. I think clusters as well as the combo of clusters/willamette bring out a nice balanced, slight hoppy, good flavor to a malty type beer. A nice alternative to the usuall C hops in american brews.

Old 02-22-2009, 02:47 PM   #5
Austinhomebrew
Vendor
HBT_SPONSOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 107 Times on 87 Posts
Likes Given: 90