The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Clover Honey vs Regular Honey?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2009, 07:24 PM   #1
bakersbrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Clover Honey vs Regular Honey?

I just got done with my first batch of beer. Its in the bottle and I am now working on my second.

I decided to go with Charlie Papazian's Rocky Raccoon's Crystal Honey Lager. The recipe calls for clover honey. I went to the farmers market today to get clover and they didnt have any. They did however have regular "wildflower" honey. I bought some thinking I could use this instead.

Do I have to use clover honey or will this honey be fine?

Also any tips for this recipe? And also for lagering since this is my first time. Thanks guys.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-10-2009, 09:59 PM   #2
Bearocalypse
Recipes 

I went with this recipe last night, except going as an Ale opposed to a Lager. I think he would want you to experiment instead of following to a T. If you like the scent and the taste of the wildflower honey, I don't think that you will have any problem.

I was able to find clover honey at a big chain store for about 12 bucks for 3 pounds, if you change your mind.

Old 05-11-2009, 12:17 AM   #3
BigEd
Recipes 

Liked 110 Times on 97 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Clover honey is the mass-market, super filtered honey you buy at the supermarket. It's fine if all you want is more alcohol and lightness. Local, wild, unfiltered wildflower honey will have much more flavor and aroma and it's the far better choice when you want some honey flavor in the beer.

Old 05-11-2009, 01:45 AM   #4
bakersbrew
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

oh good to hear. i definitely want to taste the honey. i cant wait to brew this batch. i also like the sound of using ale yeast. i might try that too.

Old 05-11-2009, 01:56 AM   #5
QueenCityALER
Recipes 

Quote: