Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Cheap Kits

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-18-2008, 08:53 AM   #1
Terry08
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Cheap Kits

Well I have been brewing for over 30 years starting with malting barley on a barbeque result? Drinkable but to much work.

Since that like many I have tried recipe's of all known ale types including some of my own invention. I do love the stuff. I am 65 and can sink one with the pro's.

Well getting to the point of this post. I have brewed all types of kits some costing almost as much as a slab. Conclusion its not the make just a couple of simple rules. And I will convey my simple no brainer method that works.

1. I use a 40ltr brew container Reason it allows the fermentation foam to stay on top not be pushed down into the wort. Remeber there can be a slightly positive pressure from the CO2.
I live in Australia and the temperature can accelerate the process.

2. I sanitise the brew container as I would a baby's bottle. I do believe that the use of a brush in the bottle is important to remove any deposits on the inside. Hygiene is paramount.

Any cheap kit. No supermarket manufactures beer wort so it is the real stuff from a brewery. So the beer you pay big bucks for is what you get in those cheap kits. Most people cannot hold filtered homoginised beer at very low temperatures under preasure for a month so we make beer with the same attributes as a good wine.

3. Follow the instructions No Brainer stuff Important Do Not Spill The Wort it makes a sticky mess and the wife will kill you and forbid your use of the stove. Lots of sucking up is then required.