Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Can You Brew It recipe for Lagunitas IPA

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-03-2013, 03:26 AM   #31
Scottyh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Hi, I am still relatively new at all of this. I just brewed this a couple of days ago following this recipe. I am a little confused as to when to add the dry hops, at five days into fermenting? After adding the hops wait for 5-7 days then rack to a secondary? I just want to make sure I understand this. Thanks in advance!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2013, 02:36 PM   #32
JLem
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 168 Times on 148 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottyh View Post
Hi, I am still relatively new at all of this. I just brewed this a couple of days ago following this recipe. I am a little confused as to when to add the dry hops, at five days into fermenting? After adding the hops wait for 5-7 days then rack to a secondary? I just want to make sure I understand this. Thanks in advance!
Generally, dry hops are added after fermentation is complete (or close to complete) and 5-7 days prior to bottling. I would let you beer ferment for 10 day - 2 weeks and then add the dry hops for 5-7 days and then bottle. If you want to use a secondary vessel (up to you, though I do not think it is necessary here) let the beer ferment for 10 days - 2 weeks in primary, then rack it to secondary, then add the dry hops for 5-7 days, then bottle.

If you cannot be certain you can bottle on time you should wait to dry hop - once the dry hops are in, you dont want to leave them in there for more than 7 days and you'll want to get all that hoppy goodness into bottles as soon as the dry hopping is finished.

Old 01-16-2013, 04:22 AM   #33
reverendnathan
Recipes