Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Bud Light type recipe?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-10-2006, 04:53 AM   #1
r3n0
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Bud Light type recipe?

Hi, i am very new to brewing, and ive brewed 3 batches so far, i need to build up my taste for beer so i want to brew somethgn as close to budlight as possible, slighty beery, mostly watery but alchoholic, any sugestions?

I am currently brewing German Oktoberfest beer right now, SMells very strong!

i have a question though, how do u know if u have a 'bad' batch?
thanks
sorry, im very new

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-10-2006, 05:22 AM   #2
Dark_Ale
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 6

I would go with a wheat beer. There are several clones out there do a quick net search for budlight clone. How do you know if you had a bad batch...hmmm well, 1. If its undrinkable. 2. If it smells terrible. 3. Sometimes you can have mold or nasties growing on top not to be confused with tiney bubbles from the yeast finishing up. 4. If you fermented at temps out of range it can cause problems. Its a hard question to answer there are many things that can cause issues with your brew. Just be careful use a good sanitizer I like idophor its so easy to work with no rinse. Dont be so careful that it makes brewing a pain. Anything that touches your beer after it is cooled make sure its clean and sanitized. I have noticed sometimes when I bottle somebrews dont taste so good but after a month in the bottle they are good, then I have had some that were awesome right out of the secondary. Unless its just completely nasty give it some time in the bottle. This is my personal preferance but I dont like malt extract in a can, use the bulk if you can with good yeast and fresh hops. Then go all grain!!! good luck

Old 04-10-2006, 05:23 AM   #3
Pumbaa
I prefer 23383