Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Bourbon County Stout clone attempt

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2012, 01:30 PM   #41
ewhite1217
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

I will look into brew in bag. You are right about the roasted barley. I was confused. I will definitely let you know how it goes. Gonna brew this evening.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2012, 02:33 PM   #42
Sir Humpsalot
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 81 Times on 65 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Quote:
Originally Posted by ewhite1217 View Post
I will look into brew in bag. You are right about the roasted barley. I was confused. I will definitely let you know how it goes. Gonna brew this evening.
I am no expert in BIAB (I have only done about a half dozen or so), but in a nutshell... for my BIAB Partial Mash recipe (11 lbs of grain), you want to:

Heat 13.75qts of water to 167*F and add in the crushed grains (Or ~13.25qts if you are using my revised 1.5lbs of roasted barley). This should give you a temp just below 152*F. Regardless of what your thermometer reads after adding the grain, DO NOT adjust your temp for at least 10 minutes. And as long as you are between 148 and 156, leave it alone. Really, thermometers are kinda close to fool-proof and so is the mashing procedure, so don't go thinking you screwed it up after a premature read. It takes time for the temp to stabilize. That's what stirring is for.

Here is the mash calculator I use. I am assuming your grains are at 70*F, but you can vary that variable if the temps are different.

Let it sit for an hour, stirring a couple of times (maybe 2 or 3). Yes, the temp will drop a little, don't worry about it.

Top off your pot with water and bring the temp up to 170*F while stirring or bobbing your grain bag, then remove your grains.