Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Blue Moon Clone

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2012, 04:49 PM   #691
caioz1jp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 3 Posts

Ok So here is the side by side. The real is on the right.

Haze/Clarity:
Clearly this is a simple case of removing the irish moss/whirlfloc tablet.

Color:
I feel the colors are actually dead on but the haze of the real deal makes it look lighter.

Smell:
I'm a chemist and have bad allergies. Definitely not my department lol. At my best i would say the smell is close.

Taste:
Very Very close. Its almost like the spices are flip flopped. I feel like there is not enough coriander as the original has a spice on it. The orange feels more sweet and less orange. I also added my spices for the last 10 minutes together.

Mouth feel
Again this goes to the fining agents. I think if i remove that it will be perfect. Viscosity wise i think it is the same but the way the carbonation is released in your mouth is different between the two. I feel the original releases in smaller bubbles then mine.

My changes:
No whirfloc
Mash oats
Reduce Orange amount. (specific to my orange peel used)
I feel these changes will do more than enough to affect the over all product. What makes me confident about the flip the spice amounts is it seems to be the reverse of what wayne suggested. The original was 3:1 corianderrange.

Again. This is definitely a solid recipe here and Nilo you have done a great job. I want to brew waynes next just to see how different the current recipe is to the original.

forumrunner_20121201_114907.jpg  

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-01-2012, 06:13 PM   #692
nilo
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 20 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by caioz1jp View Post
Ok So here is the side by side. The real is on the right.

Haze/Clarity: