New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Blue Moon Clone

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2011, 03:29 PM   #431
KirkD
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Has anyone tried to alter this recipe to create a clone of Blue Moon Summer?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2011, 10:36 PM   #432
xyxysdaddy
Recipes 

I'm very new to the homebrew scene--and can't believe I waited this long. I did a Red Hook ESB clone for numero uno, jumping right into all grain brewing, and then was planning on a Portsmouth Brewery Oatmeal Stout yesterday but did my wife a favor and read through this thread and decided I'd give a simplified version here a go. Basically used 1.5lbs oats, .5lbs rice hulls, in addition to the grains recipe here... I did decided to save 1/4lb of my oats for the boil, no clue why or if it'll change things... stuck with the standard Halltertauer hops pellets, but did 2 oz at 60 minutes... looked awesome by the end. Saw some action about 16 hours later in the airlock, now I'll just let her sit for two weeks or so.

Old 09-01-2011, 10:34 PM   #433
Theis
Recipes 

Likes Given: 5

Tried my first fully carbonated bottle of Nilo's recipe 4, it's been in the bottles for 2 weeks and the coriander flavor has really mellowed and let the orange peel come through. I did 1 oz dried sweet orange peel from Midwest and the zest of 3 navel oranges. Other posters nailed it on the head when they said that you can't add too much orange. The brew is a big hit, thanks for the great recipe.

Last edited by Theis; 09-02-2011 at 09:47 AM. Reason: wrong recipe number

Old 09-02-2011, 12:42 AM   #434
nilo
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 20 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Theis View Post