The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Big hop flavor with 1/3 the hops

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-29-2008, 08:05 PM   #121
OdinsBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I'm about to try a Pliny the Elder clone, and might try your hop tea idea. Do you have a recipe configured which includes the hop tea? Or could you take a peak at this recipe and send your ideas? I'm probably going with the extract version as I'm a noobie and this is my second batch.

Pliny clone recipe

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-24-2009, 12:06 AM   #122
deno
Recipes 

Default What about adding a HFR to the bottling bucket?

Wonder what you could achieve by adding a HFR to the bottling bucket. Any thoughts on this? I am new to brewing and have been really interested in the french press idea.

Old 06-26-2009, 04:50 PM   #123
McKBrew

Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 8

I'm going to bump this thread just for the heck of it and to add some data. I made a red rye ale a few months back. Good but quite bitter. Just for the hell of it I put about two ounces of hops in a french press, (Chinook, I think). Poured hot, not boiling water and let steep (I didn't time this, but I'm pretty sure it was at least 15 min).

The character of the beer has really changed. There is a lot more floral, and piney flavor and aroma, and the bitterness is not as pronounced. I plan on experimenting with this more in the future to see how it works and to provide better data.

Make Beer, Not War.

Old 10-03-2009, 01:20 AM   #124
oswegan
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Going to try this. Now I guess my biggest issue is that I am going to have to go out there and drink a pint of beer so I have room to replace it with hop tonic. Oh the humanity!

Old 02-18-2010, 06:29 PM   #125
KevinW
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 1