Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Bergamot Beer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2009, 07:06 PM   #1
Aviciouswind
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Bergamot Beer

I was wondering if anyone out there has tried to make a Bergamot Beer. Bergamot is an orange, with a taste that is slightly sour, but extremely bitter. Most people know this flavor/aroma from Earl Grey Tea. Information on Bergamot

I was able to get my hands on some 100% pure, food-grade bergamot oil, and I'd like to use it to flavor a beer. I was thinking of trying a hefeweizen, since those usually work well with fruit.

Anyone have any ideas? This is my first post here, as I'm relatively new to homebrewing (about 10 batches under my belt, still using extract but moving to all-grain in a few months), and I'm hoping a more seasoned veteran can help me out.

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2009, 09:02 PM   #2
shadowmage36
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Be EXTREMELY judicious with flavor extracts. They can very very VERY easily overpower your beer. I'd brew your hefeweizen recipe of choice, let it ferment out, and rack to secondary (or don't, if you normally don't). Then, when you're bottling, start adding the bergamot oil dropwise (e.g. one drop at a time). Add a drop to the bottling bucket (or secondary), mix well (without aerating!), take a sip. Repeat until you get the flavor level you want. That way you won't add too much and overwhelm the flavors of the beer itself.

As an aside, welcome to HBT!

So many things to keep track of...Not enough space to write about it anymore.
Just click the stupidly large link below to see:

Two Ravens Brewing

"Quaintest thoughts - queerest fancies
Come to life and fade away;
What care I how time advances?
I am drinking ale today."
-E.A. Poe, "Lines on Ale"

Follow me on Twitter: @tworavensbrew

Member of the American Society of Brewing Chemists