Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Bells Oberon Clone

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-05-2012, 05:14 PM   #211
Streeter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

No, I don't work at the AA store but by there. The guy I spoke with at the store told me differently, but it all opinion of the person who you get helping you of course. He suggested the wheat special and a dram of the strawberry flavor to put in at bottling. He said I may want to taste it after stirring in the extract and perhaps add more if that wasn't enough. They sell some bigger flavoring also: http://www.homebrewing.org/Strawberr...-oz_p_259.html this is the small one I got- http://www.homebrewing.org/Strawberr...m-_p_2087.html

Since I'm new to this- I'm not sure what this means exactly but my OG looked to be right on 1.040 and the recipe says OG: 1.048. Will mine be less alcohol content or higher?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2012, 01:53 PM   #212
mbobhat
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 276

Just a quick question on this, I've got some unmalted wheat that I'm wanting to do a protein rest with for an oberon clone very soon. I've got some bell's yeast I've been stepping up from a sixer of Oarsman ale. I will most likely do a decoction up to the 150 range. Should I protein rest the wheat only for 20 min or so and then add the rest of the malt, or just throw it all together? I've never done unmalted wheat before or a decoction.

Also, what are anyone's thoughts on how this will affect the beer? I would think it would maybe be more yellow and cloudy?

Old 07-30-2012, 02:45 PM   #213
HopRodGR
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbobhat View Post