Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Belgian-style table beer recipe

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-27-2013, 05:53 AM   #1
nufad
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Belgian-style table beer recipe

This is my first attempt at a Belgian table beer. I'd appreciate any feedback:

Volume: 5.5g
OG: 1.031
Est. FG: 1.005
Est. IBU: 19

4 lbs pilsner
1 lbs white wheat malt
8 oz flaked wheat
8 oz biscuit
Mashed at 150F

15 min - 0.5 oz Sorachi ace (12%)
10 min - 0.5 oz Citra (11%)
0 min - 0.5 oz Citra (11%)

Wyeast 3711, fermented at 75F

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-27-2013, 07:19 AM   #2
Soilworker
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Can't comment on your grain bill since I'm not doing all grain brewing yet but your OG seems a bit low so I would worry about the body of the beer being a bit lacking. Here's a good post on making good session beers if you haven't read it yet: Session Ale Brewing Tips. Good luck!

Secondary: West Flanders Red, Golden Sour, Saison Brett #2 with Brett custersianus and Brett naardenensis, Saison Brett #1 with Brett bruxellensis

On Deck: 100% Brett IPA, West Flanders Red #2 with ECY BugFarm

Old 05-27-2013, 12:37 PM   #3
phenry
Recipes 

Liked 116 Times on 72 Posts
Likes Given: 21

Your grainbill looks good, I tend to let the yeast do most of the work in terms of flavor/aroma in Belgians, so if I were to brew this I probably would have just stuck with a bittering charge and maybe some noble hops @15 min, but that's just me.

Next time maybe consider subbing in some Vienna or Munich for some of the Pilsner if you're finding this batch lacking in complexity.

Old 05-27-2013, 07:26 PM   #4
nufad
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts