The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Apple Pie in a bottle

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2012, 03:18 AM   #11
TimpanogosSlim
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 76 Times on 67 Posts
Likes Given: 5

i'm no expert on whether the apples should be in secondary or in the mash or what, but i agree with baking them - partial caramelization of their sugars should help. To that end, it might make sense to bake them in something non-stick so you can get all the goodness. it will also break down the cell walls and make the sugars easier to ferment (and the flavors easier to dissolve).

You should core the apples. There are bad things in apple seeds.

The cinnamon at 4oz of stick may be too much. If we're talking about hard cassia cinnamomum aromaticum bark, it's flavors are very soluble in alcohol. You might want to do some more research on the amount and type of cinnamon used in spiced beers.

fwiw true brown sugar is manufactured by spinning cooked cane juice in a centrifuge-like device, and as such it's major constituents are sugar and molasses. In baking i vociferously advocate real spun brown sugar because it's crystals are long and needly and have physical properties that are critical during the mixing stage - but added to wort you may as well use molasses for the flavor.

A cup of brown sugar is basically equivalent, chemically speaking, to 1 cup of table sugar (granular white sucrose) and 1 tablespoon of molasses, fwiw.

Last edited by TimpanogosSlim; 05-02-2012 at 03:23 AM.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2012, 04:03 AM   #12
dwarven_stout
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 34 Times on 32 Posts
Likes Given: 6

You'll want some tartness in there. Pie apples are tart. What you have right now is a recipe for applesauce beer. You're on the right track with cinnamon, and you might consider adding a little vanilla.