Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Apple Ephemere Clone Attempt

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-17-2008, 09:07 PM   #1
gpogo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Apple Ephemere Clone Attempt

This is my first attempt at formulating a recipe, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

I figure Ephemere is essentially a Wit with Apple flavors.

Extract + Steeping grains
6.00 lb Wheat Liquid Extract [Boil for 15 min] Extract 70.59 %
1.00 lb Pilsner DME
1.00 lb White Wheat Malt (2.4 SRM) Grain 11.76 %
0.50 lb Oats, Flaked (1.0 SRM) Grain 5.88 %
1 gallon McIntosh Apple Juice Added into fermenter with wort after boil

Hops
0.25 oz Sorachi Ace [12.30 %] (60 min) Hops 9.1 IBU

Spices
0.75 oz Coriander Seed (Boil 5.0 min) Misc
1.00 oz Orange Peel, Bitter (Boil 15.0 min) Misc
1.50 oz Orange Peel, Sweet (Boil 10.0 min) Misc

Yeast
Wyeast 3463 Forbidden Fruit

After I week I plan on taking a gravity sample to see how it is tasting, if there isn't enough green apple flavor my plan is to copy BYO's Jolly Rancher Apple idea. Essentially I'll take a pack of green apple candies and cook them in some water on the stove. Once it is all liquified and cooled I will rack the beer on top of this and keg.

Any suggestions?

Secondary 3 - Malkore's Not So Ancient Orange Mead(2.5 gal)
Secondary 4 -
Gallon Fermentor - Joe's Ancient Orange, Joe's Quick Grape Mead, Pomegranate Mead
Bottled/aging - Sunshine Wheat Clone, Fat Tire Clone, Hard Cider, Scotch Ale, Orange Blossom Sweet Mead
Coming soon... - Weizenbock, Belgian Wit, Apfelwein

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-17-2008, 09:41 PM   #2
big supper
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I've read that to make the most of the fruit flavor, you should add it to secondary instead.

Old 01-09-2009, 06:09 PM   #3
sonetlumiere85
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts