Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Anyone brew a dopplebock?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-28-2008, 12:27 AM   #1
Eastside Brewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Anyone brew a dopplebock?

I am thinking about brewing a dopplebock, I have no experience with this style, what do you think about this;

6 gallon batch -

13 # of German Pilsner 2.0 srm
3 # of German Munich 20.0 srm
3# of German Vienna 3.5 srm
1.5# melanoiden malt 20.0 srm
0.5 # Choc. 350 srm

mash 150 for 75 min.
mash out 168 10 min.

boil 90 min. -

1.5 oz. EKG @ 60 min.
1.25 oz. EKG @30 min.

WLP 833 - German Bock Lager Yeast

OG 1.101
FG 1.025

21 days @ 49 degrees
5 days @ 56 degrees
7 days @ 36 degrees

Lager in keg for ?? months??

Any input is greatly appreciated.

Eastside

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2008, 12:32 AM   #2
Anbrew
Recipes 

I've made three batches of doppelbock, so I'm not expert, but your recipe looks pretty solid. Here are some changes I'd make

Use de-husked caramunich instead of chocolate
Use tettnang instead of EKG
Only do a 60 min hop addition (I would try to stay around 25 IBUs)
If you can, boil for a long time (2+ hrs)
Pitch a very large starter.
I lagered one of mine 3 months and one of mine 7 months, I didn't detect much difference in flavor.

Hope this helps!

My semi-regularly updated beer blog: PremiumBitter
PRIMARY 1: Baltic Porter | WLP001
PRIMARY 2: Chocolate-Spearmint Winter Warmer | WLP028
SECONDARY: Spokane Falls Fresh Hop Ale (IPA) | WLP001/WLP028 (Amarillo/Columbus dry hop)
KEGS:
Liberator Doppelbock
Yellow Marmot Ale (Golden Ale) | WLP001
Yellow Marmot Ale (Golden Ale) | WLP028
UPCOMING: Premium Bitter, Imperial Steam Beer, Strong Scotch Ale, Munich Helles, Schwartz Bier, Rauch Bier

Old 10-28-2008, 12:49 AM   #3
Kaiser

Recipes 

Liked 114 Times on 71 Posts
Likes Given: 4