Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Allagash Tripel Clone or Duvel Clone recipe?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-02-2009, 06:59 PM   #21
Freezeblade
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 13 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by robp7787 View Post
I brewed a duvel clone about three weeks ago. After the main fermentation mellowed, I transferred it to a glass carboy. It's been there over 2 weeks. Are there any signs I should be looking for? I know I'm supposed to wait a few months, but how do I know when to bottle? Should I just check the gravity? Or am I waiting to see the beer start to clear? I know I'm supposed to be patient. Let me know what to look for.

In case you haven't guessed, I'm a noob, and this was only the 5th batch I've brewed.
I just bottled my Duvel clone a few weeks ago, it was 4 months old at that point, 1.5 months in primary, the rest in secondary. I waited that long because I wanted the beer as crystal clear as possible. Just let it sit, especally if you're using the Duvel strain, as that one takes forever to clear out.

To answer your question: Just wait for it. Let it clear. RDWHAHB.
Aging:Public House Dry Stout, Procrastination Porter, Mr. Brown Ale, Westvleteren 12 Clone, Mead, Duvel Clone, Graham's English Cider 6-21, Belgian Draak Strong Ale, Fig Melomel, Acerglyn, Restorative Tonic Metheglyn

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-25-2009, 06:44 AM   #22
nutcase
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freezeblade View Post
I just bottled my Duvel clone a few weeks ago, it was 4 months old at that point, 1.5 months in primary, the rest in secondary. I waited that long because I wanted the beer as crystal clear as possible. Just let it sit, especally if you're using the Duvel strain, as that one takes forever to clear out.