Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > AHS Recipe Kits for a Beginner

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2007, 12:16 PM   #1
Boston Brewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Default AHS Recipe Kits for a Beginner

Hello all!

In preparation for my first brew, I am trying to pick an appropriate recipe for (obviously) a total beginner.

I am currently reading How to Brew and was thinking about just attempting the Cincinatti Pale Ale recipe. I am wondering, however, about the AHS Kits, as those seem like they might be just as easy and offer a little more variety.

My specific question: how are the directions in the AHS kits, and more importantly, can they be followed without alteration? Palmer warns of kits that suggest adding sugar, etc. I assume he is talking about el-cheapo kits and not something from a reputable source like AHS appears to be (based on feedback from this board and other places), but I just wanted to confirm.

What about other recipes, kits for a beginner?

Thanks in advance,
Matt

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2007, 12:31 PM   #2
kingjam
Recipes 

AHS kits a easy and turn out great. I would even do a mini mash from AHS as they are not any harder and turn better results. The instructions are great

Old 10-10-2007, 12:46 PM   #3
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4381 Times on 3188 Posts
Likes Given: 854

I agree- AHS kits are very well done. When I first started brewing, one of the first kits I bought from them was a Fat Tire clone. It was excellent- and the directions are well written and easy to understand.

I would just order the extract kit, because it usually comes with steeping grains. (I don't remember if it came with a grain bag or not- I'm sure it'll say on the website when you order). You can also order by phone- they are great to talk to on the phone, too.