Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > Adding Jack Daniels

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-25-2008, 04:44 PM   #1
Austin_
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default Adding Jack Daniels

I'm trying to formulate a recipe (Partial Mash) for a good bourbon stout or porter to keep me warm on the cool nights this winter. I want to add some Jack Daniels before bottling to give it an extra kick. I'm also toying with adding some oak chips in the secondary, though I'm not sure if the charcoal flavor of the Jack mixed with the oak chips might be too much. I've never done anything or tasted anything like this before as I am still a newb.

1) How much whiskey is a good amount? I am not afraid of having a strong whiskey taste and it would actually be preferred. I was thinking of maybe adding a fifths worth into the bottling bucket.

2) Does adding the whiskey at bottling affect bottling condition at all? Is more or less sugar needed? What about time?

3) Just out of curiosity, but is there anyway to determine the abv of the beer after I have added the whiskey?

4) Finally, does anyone know of any good recipes like this that I can look at for ispiration? This is only the third recipe I have formulated and I need a little guidance.

Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2008, 05:11 PM   #2
Bopper
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 129

Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin_LSU View Post
I'm trying to formulate a recipe (Partial Mash) for a good bourbon stout or porter to keep me warm on the cool nights this winter. I want to add some Jack Daniels before bottling to give it an extra kick. I'm also toying with adding some oak chips in the secondary, though I'm not sure if the charcoal flavor of the Jack mixed with the oak chips might be too much. I've never done anything or tasted anything like this before as I am still a newb.