New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > 20 lb of sugar and a jar of yeast nutrient

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2010, 06:18 PM   #111
Centexbear
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freezeblade View Post
This most certainly is inverted sugar, as the heat and pH causes the sucrose to become glucose and fructose, thus, inverted.
The quote below is from one page back. In addition, the OP says it's a maillard reaction and not an invert sugar. To make inverted sugar/syrup you have to add acid.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maillard_reaction

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inverted_sugar_syrup

"I've got a lot of experience boiling sugar for candy (family business, etc). You pot should be at least 4 times as "tall" as the sugar+water mixture you are boiling.

I've had no problems making the belgian candy syrup-it works better if you don't try to make it quickly---it should take about 30 minutes from when it starts to boil to color change (assuming 2 pound sugar and 1 1/2 cups water). If it takes less time to get up to 290F then the heat is too high.

The diammonium phosphate is the key to the maillard reaction. Its pretty easy to get sugar syrup up to 290F without changing its color if you don't burn it.

There are a lot of different opinions about this on line and some people say this is "invert sugar".

This is not the same as making "invert" sugar with an acid (like lemon juice), and this is not the same as "carmalization". This is more like the browning of bread in the toaster--it is a change in the sugars to a complex molecule that tastes different that caramel. Its a fairly complex reaction, and the products are not exactly sugars.

tim"

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-07-2010, 06:19 PM   #112
Hermit
Recipes 

Liked 41 Times on 37 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Quote: