Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > 20 lb of sugar and a jar of yeast nutrient

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2010, 09:48 PM   #91
bonsai4tim
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

I've got a lot of experience boiling sugar for candy (family business, etc). You pot should be at least 4 times as "tall" as the sugar+water mixture you are boiling.

I've had no problems making the belgian candy syrup-it works better if you don't try to make it quickly---it should take about 30 minutes from when it starts to boil to color change (assuming 2 pound sugar and 1 1/2 cups water). If it takes less time to get up to 290F then the heat is too high.

The diammonium phosphate is the key to the maillard reaction. Its pretty easy to get sugar syrup up to 290F without changing its color if you don't burn it.

Last 2 batches of belgian candi I've waited to add the diammonium phosophate until the thermometer was at 240F--no sense in wasting the N at a lower temp when it wont work. Its seemed to go a little faster in terms of color change, and the ammonia smell isn't as bad. I suspect waiting to add until the temp is 240F of so makes more of the N available for the reaction.

There are a lot of different opinions about this on line and some people say this is "invert sugar".

This is not the same as making "invert" sugar with an acid (like lemon juice), and this is not the same as "carmalization". This is more like the browning of bread in the toaster--it is a change in the sugars to a complex molecule that tastes different that caramel. Its a fairly complex reaction, and the products are not exactly sugars.

tim

Old 04-04-2010, 05:15 PM   #92
Dirtybeau
Recipes 

So there seem to be some veteran candy makers on this thread that can help me out here.