2 Row Pale Ale (UK) vs Maris Otter vs Pearl vs European Pilsen vs 2 Row US ...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

joelireland

Reaction score
I am relatively new to all grain brewing (and loving it) but as I start looking at more and more recipes for inspiration, I have become slightly muddled with regards to the different grain types.

As far as I understand, Maris Otter is VERY similar to Pearl Malt (which I have available - Muntons 2 Row) and extremely difficult to tell the difference - assuming that they are both 2 row UK styles (i.e. a bit more biscuity/malty than many). I understand as well that if I don't have any 2Row US available then I can easily substitute this for a good pilsen malt or even the Pearl Malt.

I live in Norway so not all grain types are readily available.

The confusion is coming because many recipes call for certain percentages of Maris Otter and certain percentages of 2 Row Pale (UK). Can I just use the 2 Row Pale in place of the MO malt and thus if a recipe calls for say 2kg of MO malt and 2kg of 2 Row Pale (UK) malt then just use 4kg of 2 Row Pale Malt?

I know this question is a bit weird but the more I read, the more that it seems as though you can easily substitute many of these malts for each other without any significant difference. The biggest difference as far as I read is the Maris Otter gives a more malty, toast/biscuit flavour compared with many of the other Pale Malts and even Pilsen Malts.

Anyway, any of your opinions would be appreciated and I don't mean to open a minefield here.