Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Yeast starter flask size?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2008, 07:25 PM   #1
mjs483
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Yeast starter flask size?

I'm new to yeast starters and I'm trying to figure out which size pyrex/erlenmeyer flask size I should buy to do starters in. I'd like to be able to do up to 2 (maybe even 3) liter starters. I'm assuming that a 2000ml flask is does not have enough head space for a 2 liter starter....is this true? I'd like to know before I spend the money on a pricey 4000ml - 5000ml flask. Are there other alternatives to the flasks that are just as good?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2008, 07:51 PM   #2
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 3 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1112 Times on 738 Posts
Likes Given: 28

You wouldn't want to start with 2 liters anyway so you're not going to have explosive krausen. You'd start smaller and build it up. I just got my first flask, 2 liters... and it seems a little big to be honest. It will barely fit on my DIY stirplate in the works. I think for most 10 gallon batches, a 1 liter would be fine. I might go 1.5 with an Imperial somethingorother. A 4 liter starter is like half a batch size.. you might as well pitch on a yeast cake.

Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc. Did you know we are also now a full service homebrew shop selling malt, hops, yeast (Wyeast), etc?

Old 01-09-2008, 08:03 PM   #3
mr x
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

I like my 5 litre flask from morebeer. Gives me lots of head room, and my experience is I need 1 litre of space. A 3 litre starter is good for higher gravity beer, I harvest the rest for future use.

This place really went to hell. Follow the OF standard stout. Bye.

Old 01-09-2008, 08:16 PM   #4
fifelee
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 35 Times on 24 Posts