New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Wort Chillers - Immersion vs. Counterflow

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2010, 04:27 PM   #1
dekeduffy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Wort Chillers - Immersion vs. Counterflow

I started brewing initially using ice baths to chill my wort. I was able to step-up to a hand-me-down immersion wort chiller about 2 years ago and I have been using that.

I'm looking into potentially picking up some new equipment. What are some of the benefits of immersion vs. counterflow wort chillers? I'm assuming time is the biggest factor, but wonder if there is more. Or if there are any requirements in using counterflow (need a pump, different connects, etc)?

If there is another thread that already covers this I wasn't able to find, please point me there.

Primary: Empty
Secondary 1: Doppelbock
Secondary 2: Empty
Kegged: Nut Brown Ale from Northern Brewer and Oatmeal Stout from Joy of Homebrewing
Drinking: Home brew, Goose Island Mild Winter and White Russians

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2010, 04:37 PM   #2
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 53 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 29

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/wiki/index.php/Wort_chiller

Old 01-02-2010, 05:48 PM   #3
Hermit
Recipes 

Liked 41 Times on 37 Posts
Likes Given: 9

There was just another thread on this. The main advantage of the immersion chiller is that it gets the WHOLE batch down at the same time thus reducing the window for DMS production. Also you get the cold break and can let it settle in the kettle. I don't know how much this is theoretical versus practical since many people seem to use all sorts of chillers to good effect.

Old 01-02-2010, 05:54 PM   #4
wyzazz
Recipes 

Liked 39 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 47