Last week to Enter the Spike Brewing 20 Gallon Sight Glass Kettle Giveaway!



Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Wiring up my Ranco?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2008, 02:19 AM   #1
ThatFishGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Davis
Posts: 117
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Wiring up my Ranco?

Hey everyone, I just got in my Ranco temp controller, but im not sure how to hook up the power cords. theres only six contacts so i know it can only go a few ways, but a simple snapshot or basic instructions would really help me out. I am normally good with wiring but it came with no instructions.
Thanks,
Sam

__________________
ThatFishGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2008, 02:20 AM   #2
EdWort
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
EdWort's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bee Cave, Texas
Posts: 11,969
Liked 292 Times on 149 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Here is a great how-to.

http://rcreptiles.com/blog/index.php...1000_thermosta

Enjoy!

EdWort is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2008, 02:28 AM   #3
ThatFishGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Davis
Posts: 117
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Thats perfect! thanks,
Sam

ps. I love how the responses are so quick on this forum!

__________________
ThatFishGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2008, 03:28 AM   #4
mmb
FNG
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
mmb's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: WBMI
Posts: 25,401
Liked 3279 Times on 3168 Posts
Likes Given: 193

Default

Don't forget to wirenut the grounds together when you wire that Ranco up. You want to make sure that the fridge/freezer can drop voltage to the ground if it needs to.

__________________
mmb is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2008, 03:43 AM   #5
TheDom
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
TheDom's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 382
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I'm probably bearing my electrical ignorance for the world to see here, but I'm pretty sure you're supposed to use the grounded 3-prong extension cord, and use that third green wire. I'm assuming you're using it for a fridge or freezer, and just about all of them have three prongs. The only difference between that link and doing it with a 3-prong is:

1) Use a three-prong extension cord only, and ditch the power strip. This will give you two green wires.
2) Connect the two green wires together, either by not cutting them in the first place or by using one of those twist-on wire connectors.
3) Follow the rest of the directions as shown in the link.

I'm probably being over-cautious, but the owner's manual for my chest freezer I wired up last month said that it was only to be used with a three-prong outlet. I know I've got a link here somewhere, I'll post it when I find it.

Cheers,
Dom

__________________
TheDom is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2008, 03:48 AM   #6
TheDom
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
TheDom's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 382
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Here it is:
http://www.brewboard.com/index.php?showtopic=40898

Hope it helps,
Dom

__________________
TheDom is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-30-2008, 05:41 AM   #7
ThatFishGuy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Davis
Posts: 117
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

ya i noticed on the first link provided that it showed how to wire a regular two-pronged extension to a power strip. i am using it for a freezer so i got the grounded version. But i figured out to connect the grounds. Thanks for the help everyone.
-Sam

__________________
ThatFishGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2009, 06:48 PM   #8
MattHollingsworth
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Samobor, Croatia
Posts: 1,612
Liked 32 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 37

Default

Okay, so time to wire my Ranco up. I read a lot of posts on this board but want to check a few things and make sure I'm getting this correct.

On this diagram below:



(except I'm using two stage and have that diagram here)

And referring also to this post:

Wiring a Ranco Temperature Controller - BrewBoard

The black, (hot or live) wire is used as a short patch wire to connect the "C" in the lower section (one wire for each stage) to the "120" (actually 240 for me, Europe and all) in the top section.

The black wire from the first and second stage will go to the "NO" on the lower section, in each of their respective stage areas.

The white (common) wire from the first and second stage and the main wire will be twisted together then put into the "COM" hole in the top section.

The green wire (ground) for each of the three wires will be twisted together. But here's where I have a real serious question too, can I use electrical tape for this? I have had NO luck at all finding a wire nut. Just went to two home depot type stores here and scoured their electrical sections for some time and had no luck. I found electrical tape, though, that came in various colors, as on Wikipedia:

Electrical tape - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The ground wire here is green and yellow striped not just green. Basically, I have 3 sets of tape, one in each color for each wire, so have one roll, as on Wikipedia, that's green and yellow striped. But I don't know if this is really safe. I need to get some advice from someone who knows better than I do.

Any help is appreciated.

__________________
HOMEBREWING SINCE 1997
MattHollingsworth is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2011, 05:21 AM   #9
muse435
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
muse435's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Posts: 596
Liked 17 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

I know this is an old thread but the one question that others asked is the same one i have but it has not been answered yet. Can i just combine the two grounds together?

__________________

Starter - Onyx IPA
Primary - The Elf's' Reward
Kegged - Too Sweet Honey Ale


"Drinking cheep beer is like having sex with an ugly woman, sure it gets the job done, but your friends WILL find out!"
muse435 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2011, 12:31 PM   #10
milesvdustin
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Pensacola, Florida
Posts: 631
Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

Yes, both grounds together. That's how I did mine.

__________________
milesvdustin is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a Ranco Ranco ETC-111000 McKBrew Brew Stands 1 02-18-2009 07:09 PM
Ranco Wiring Jonnio Bottling/Kegging 5 05-08-2008 10:02 PM
Ranco wiring cowgo Equipment/Sanitation 20 12-02-2007 12:09 AM
Wiring a Ranco Bsquared Equipment/Sanitation 16 07-13-2007 01:04 AM
Ranco wiring...?? hmm...?? Jester Equipment/Sanitation 4 05-17-2006 03:20 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS