Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > will pot upgrade require burner upgrade?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2008, 10:17 PM   #1
ChrisS
I like cold beverages
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 232
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default will pot upgrade require burner upgrade?

So last year sometime I bought this turkey fryer setup and although I am happy with it I would like to upgrade the pot to a 40 qt. The problem is that if you look at the pic there is a 3/4 - 1' metal ring that is on top of the burner to help keep the pot from sliding off or something. It is ~13" in diameter. All of the pots that I have been looking at have been in the ~15" range.

Can I put the bigger pot on top of this extra safety "feature" without issue?
Will the extra distance from the burner to the pot be a big deal?

I guess I could take a hack saw and file to it, but my luck it is adding extra stability or something.

Insight would be appreciated.

__________________
ChrisS is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-01-2008, 10:55 PM   #2
malkore
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
malkore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 6,922
Liked 32 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

As long as you can sit it on top like that you should be cool. the welds look plenty strong.

my problem with a simliar burner was that my new pot was only about 1/2" wider than that ring/lip, so I couldn't sit inside, and couldn't sit on top, it sat half inside/half on, and thus at like a 10 degree angle.

not cool

__________________
Malkore
Primary: English Mild
On tap: Pale Ale, Lancelot's Wheat, English Brown Ale, Steam Beer, HoovNuts IPA
Bottled: MOAM, Braggot, Raspberry Melomel, Merlot, Apfelwein, Pyment, Sweet mead, Cabernet
Gal in 2009: 27, Gal in 2010: 34, Gal in 2011: 13, Gal in 2012: 10
malkore is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-01-2008, 11:57 PM   #3
rod
beer -just brew it
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
rod's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: brantford,ontario
Posts: 1,226
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

i use a 60 litre pot set on top of the ring - no problems so far....

__________________

simplified signature:
beer, wine, cheese in various stages of production

rod is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2008, 02:29 AM   #4
kmlavoy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 186
Default

What I did is sort of a jerry rigged fixed, but it works. I have the exacty same burner, and bought a 10 gallon Bayou classic pot.

The main things you are concerned with are stability and air flow. I went to Home Depot and bought a couple 2 foot lentghs of rebar. I found it in the building materials section near the fencing. I think they were 1.98 apiece. I cut two of them in half. Put the long one in the middle section, two short pieces on the sides, and the other two short pieces across the middle to make a sort of grid. It works just as I hoped it would.

Save your extra money for a spigot on the side so you don't have to pour anymore. That was the best brew money I've spent yet.

__________________
kmlavoy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
From stove top to propane burner upgrade BeerFan21 Equipment/Sanitation 5 06-14-2009 10:16 AM
have to upgrade burner stand amishland Equipment/Sanitation 10 01-13-2009 11:57 PM
Burner Upgrade? chefchris Equipment/Sanitation 1 09-15-2008 12:33 AM
New burner or upgrade regulator? Didymus Equipment/Sanitation 22 12-03-2007 06:10 PM
Looking to upgrade? Orfy Equipment/Sanitation 4 01-25-2007 04:14 AM