Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > What's your favorite type of bottle?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2009, 05:59 AM   #11
ruffdeezy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

EZ cap are my fav, but there are expensive, and I'm just getting into kegging so they will get less use now.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2009, 06:15 AM   #12
BlindLemonLars
Conqueroo Brew
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Sierra Nevada 12oz, and various imported Imperial pint bottles. (Fuller's, Belhaven, various German flip-tops, etc.) That way I get one pour per bottle, which perfectly fills my favorite Sam Adams and nonic pint glasses. I hate making a second pour from a bottle of homebrew, as tilting it up can stir up the yeast and cloud the beer.

The SNPA 12oz bottles are great...not too tall, completely unmarked, and emptying them of their original content is quite enjoyable.

Old 04-02-2009, 10:36 AM   #13
rico567
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 82 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 21

My bottle collection consists largely of 12 oz. 9 inch commercial recappable bottles.....probably about 450. I toss any like the Sierra Nevada or New Belgium that aren't 9 inch. The glass isn't all that thick in most of them, but they cap & hold up fine. Only had two fail so far. I also have @ 20 of the 16 oz. flip-tops. I have a few larger bottles, but these tend to be problematic unless they can be emptied in one pour, as the sediment gets stirred up.

“Malt does more than Milton can / To justify God’s ways to man”

-A. E. Housman (1859–1936). A Shropshire Lad , 1896.

Old 04-02-2009, 10:55 AM   #14
Laughing_Gnome_Invisible
Recipes 

Liked 513 Times on 394 Posts
Likes Given: 76

I still have 16 1 litre Mr Beer bottles.....And I fill those first. I love them.

Old 04-02-2009, 12:49 PM   #15
CBBaron

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 4 Posts